Just Me.

12 Sep

So, here I am.  Just little ole me, with my big dreams, and no good ways to go about achieving them yet.

 

Because of some fluke in my DNA I seem to care more about dogs than people.

Me and my boys.

 

I can’t get myself to cry at funerals or at my own wedding, but I tear up every time I see, or read about, a dog being abused, a dog starving, when a dog loses a loved one, when someone loses their beloved dog, and when a dog does something amazing.

 

When I first started reading about animal rescue I inevitably ended up reading about insane cases of animal abuse.  You can’t have one without the other.  The more I read the more I cried.  And I couldn’t stop reading.  I was addicted to finding out about all of the things that need to be stopped. I was addicted to crying for these dogs that I’d never met.  Someone should be.  Someone needs to care. What kind of sick people tie their dog to a bowling ball and throw it in to the lake JUST deep enough that the dog’s nose can stick out? Or what kind of person bothers keeping a dog in their apartment that they’re going to starve to death?  It takes a LONG time for a 55 pound dog to starve to death.  I read about all of the fighting rings and fighting busts.  I read stories about dogs who were saved in the nick of time but would have years of traumatic experiences to get over, and I read stories about dogs who were never saved.  I read all the stories that most people don’t want to read because they are so sad.

 

Many of the stories that I read are about pitbull type dogs.  They are often in the hands of the wrong kinds of owners, and often mistreated for the pleasure of sick people.   To me, there is nothing sweeter than pitbull eyes, and the large flat pitbull foreheads are perfect for kissing.  It’s so heartwarming to hear about pitbulls that come out of miserable situations and turn in to great family dogs, therapy dogs, and service dogs.

 

After reading all these amazing blogs and stories about people who are rescuing, starting organizations, fostering, volunteering, ect I got all these ideas in my head about how I could help.  My ideas are big ideas.. So I started one step at a time, the only way I know how. Fostering is my step one.

 

I LOVE fostering dogs. It’s a great place to start. So far I have fostered Tigger, Ginger, Gunner, Romeo, Reddie, Emmitt, Izzy and Bubb.  Someday I’ll write more about them but for now I’ll keep it basic.  They were all different kinds of dogs, with completely different stories, that all ended up in wonderful homes, some that even keep in touch with me.

 

Now I’m taking another step.  Now I am fostering for a Pitbull Rescue; Minnesota Pitbull Rescue out of the St. Paul area(mnpitbull.com).  I’m so proud to be a part of their organization because they have incredible volunteers, and are incredibly dedicated to educating their area about the pitbull type dogs.  I hope that by taking this step I will discover ways to bring pitbull education to the Duluth area, and someday my big dreams will be even bigger.

 

On another note: I’m so lucky to have a man as supportive as Gene by my side.  He lets me bring strange dogs home all the time, and more than just letting them come in to our home, he also cares for them.   He frequently stays up late discussing ideas and plans that I have, regardless of if I can make them happen right now or not.  He also loves pitbulls (or we wouldn’t be married..), and he holds me everytime I cry my eyes out over some dog I’ve never met, even if he thinks I’m silly.

Our family on our wedding day.

 

Stay tuned for a post about Mister Hank, our first pitbull foster; a lovable and bouncy, short-legged, big-headed brindle pittie who was found on the streets covered in urine and almost 20 pounds underweight.

 

Hank at the shelter.

2 Responses to “Just Me.”

  1. Polly Tracey September 13, 2012 at 1:18 am #

    Wonderful. I knew you had some stories to tell. So happy you have taken this step. Your avid reader, Mom.

  2. Kelsey September 13, 2012 at 3:19 am #

    Your mom was right, this was a great idea! So proud of you Chels, you have such a big heart for animals, and yes I may cry at funerals to, but I’ve got that crazy DNA as well and for example a flood happens and my first response is “I hope someone rescues the dogs!” maybe that’s why we are such good friends! lol Keep it up, this post brought tears to my eyes, love it! Also adorable picture of Milo and the sand on his face in the background =)

Leave a Reply

