Letter to a Foster Dog- Hank

11 Oct

Dear Hank,

Hank.  My dear foster baby. (If you haven’t read Hank’s story, read it here:https://pittiesforyourthoughts.wordpress.com/2012/09/13/some-hanky-panky-going-on/)   I’ve had you for over a month now, in my house, on my couch, in my lap, outside with our family, and in my heart.  I’ve learned your personality, and your sweet quirks.  I’ve watched you become surer of yourself, and have marveled at your complete joy in living.

As I look ahead to next week, when you will be meeting not just one, but three, prospective adoptive families, I am over-come with an abundance of opposing emotions.  It’s so hard to explain what I am feeling now that we are at this stage.

As your foster-mom my goals have been to get you out of a horrible situation, to bring your weight back up and to show you what it’s like living in a house.  I set out to learn everything I could about you so that I can use it to help find you a “fur-ever” family.  I set out to show you love and tenderness, but also to give you the direction you need in order to become a great house dog.  I didn’t intend on falling in love with you.  But I did.

Image

Our family on the couch. Hank looks comfy!

I have watched you conquer stairs.  Watched you discover the joy of couches.  I have been amazed at the speed with which you potty trained and crate trained and  I have been overjoyed to see how happy you are; I have never, in my entire life, met a dog as happy as you.

I completely understand why you are so happy, too.  Your life has done a complete 180.  You experienced so many new things at our house.  So, this is the hard part for me.  When I send you to your new “fur”ever home, how can I ever explain to you that I’m not kicking you out?  That I would love more than anything to keep you for the rest of your life, to watch you grow old, and to keep you this happy every day until you no longer have needs on this earth.  You are SO happy at my house, how can I make you leave?

Image

I’m so happy and proud that you have people that can’t wait to meet you, but at the same time it hurts me to even THINK about sending you to a new home.  THIS is the agony of being a foster parent.  As your foster parent it is my job to let you go to a new home, so that I can continue fostering more dogs.  You will go to a new home, and in turn I will pull another dog from a desperate situation.

Please don’t think that I gave up on you.

Please don’t think that I kicked you out.

Please don’t miss me.

I hope that you go to your new family, whoever they may be, and are as absolutely, completely, head-over-heals (quite literally sometimes) happy as you are at my house.  I hope that you remember me, but that you don’t feel sad that you are no longer my dog.  Because, Hank, you will always be my foster baby.  You will always belong to me, just a little bit, even when you have a new family.  I will never forget the time I spent with you.

I hope that you can understand this.  I hope that you are happy to share the life you’ve had with me with other dogs in need.  Most of all, I hope that you are as happy with your new family as you are with my family.

I worry like this because once you are adopted I no longer control what happens to you.  I have to have blind faith that they will love you as much as I do, and treat you even better than I do.

For you, I HAVE this faith because I don’t see how anyone could resist falling utterly in love with you at first sight.

Soon I will be sending you away.  I am preparing myself for this, and in case I can’t say it later, I want you to remember these words:

Hank, your Chelsea-mom loves you.  I know you will have an absolutely fantastic life, and even though I wish I could be a part of it, you need your new family, and I need to continue fostering.  I will think of you every day.  I’m so glad you came in to my life.  I love you.

One Response to “Letter to a Foster Dog- Hank”

  1. Andrew October 13, 2012 at 5:20 pm #

    We are excited to meet Hank tomorrow. He seems like a great dog with a awesome personality.

Leave a Reply

