My Christmas Wish

8 Dec

This Christmas I am wishing for a day when Pitbull-type dogs won’t need such a strong, passionate, and united fan base to try and protect them from the judgement, discrimination, hatred and abuse that they suffer.

I wish that I was around when Pitbull-type dogs were considered “Nanny-dogs”.

pitbull2

Photo taken from http://www.ywgrossman.com blog.

http://www.ywgrossman.com/photoblog/?p=676%2F– See some wonderful old photos of Pitbulls with children!

I wish that I didn’t have to constantly explain why I love them so much.

I wish that I didn’t have nightmares about big headed, sad-eyed dogs with their ears torn off and broken limbs that will never be treated.

Noah7

Noah, a bait dog rescued by Lucky Dog Rescue in Meridian, MS.

I wish that I had never heard the word “bait dog” Believe me, you don’t want any pictures.

http://luckydogrescueblog.blogspot.com/2011/09/chance-bait-dog.html– Don’t know what a bait dog is? Read about it here.

I wish I could forget the story about a dog fighter who, instead of just killing a losing pitbull, shot the dog repeatedly with a bb gun until he died.

Do you know how many bb’s it would take to kill a 60 pound dog??

I wish that there were no people cruel enough to take an animal, whos purpose in life is to be loyal and loving, and force it to live alone on a chain with a collar that will eventually embed into it’s neck.

Rudybefore5

Rudy, a dog rescued by the founder of Lucky Dog Rescue in Meridian, MS

http://www.dogsdeservebetter.org/pictures.html

I wish that the media would stop using “Pitbull attacks” as a way to get readers and viewers.

There are many issues with the media’s portrayal of “Pitbull attacks” starting with the fact that they identify many different breeds as “Pitbulls” (keep in mind this isn’t even a breed..) and the fact that “Pitbull” attacks are reported in more newspapers and on more news stations than a non-“Pitbull” attack.

http://defendpitbulls.com/pit-bull-attack-statistics/

I wish people could look at the facts about Breed Specific Legislation.

It’s expensive, it creates a situation where less quality dog owners are the only ones with Pitbull type dogs, and doesn’t lower the number of bites in an area.

http://www.pbrc.net/breedspecific.html

http://www.nopitbullbans.com/about-cdc-bite-stats/

I wish that people could be as loyal and forgiving as dogs are.  I’m clearly a Pitbull supporter, but ALL dogs deserve better.

This is my wish.

pitbull

6 Responses to “My Christmas Wish”

  1. Long Life Cats and Dogs December 8, 2012 at 11:23 am #

    I am glad to say that, here in South Africa, we don’t have the breed specific laws but, as for the rest of the problems facing Pitbulls, I’m afraid they are all the same here. My wish list would look exactly like yours. I adore these dogs.

  2. Marcela December 8, 2012 at 12:27 pm #

    So do I. Yes, I wish that “people” would find compassion and love for such beautiful dogs as pit bulls.

  3. rachel December 9, 2012 at 2:00 am #

    I’ll never understand how someone can look at a dog that is wiggling with glee to make a new friend and decide they are dangerous. Or just minding their own business for that matter. I think I live in a pretty open-minded place as far as pit bull hysteria goes, but still get at least one rude comment a month.

    They deserve so much better. I’d love to force the scrutinizers to meet just one of these dogs that we know and love.

    • pittiesforyourthoughts December 11, 2012 at 10:19 am #

      I’m never one to deny that there are mean Pitbull type dogs. But there are mean dogs in every breed. People need to look at the wiggly-happy, or maybe nervous but wanting to love pitbull type dogs and look at them as an idividual! Meeting ONE “Pitbull” is not enough to make a judgment. I love when scrutinziers meet my wonderful Pit-mix. Thats why we need responsible owners with wonderful dogs. Changing one person’s opinion at a time is better than nothing!

  4. Tin Woman December 9, 2012 at 1:56 pm #

    Hear, hear! A wonderful wish list. My two pitties are the canine love of my life. Both were rescues from fight rings, both are adorable and loving.

    • pittiesforyourthoughts December 11, 2012 at 10:21 am #

      So happy that your dogs got rescued from a terrible situation and now have an owner that loves them so much!

Leave a Reply

