You want a perfect dog? I suggest a stuffed animal.

23 Jan

Chase curled up.

Chase curled up.

Mylo curled up.

Mylo curled up.

I LOVE my dogs. I think they’re amazing and I think they’re perfect. I love that they’re always excited to see me, I love that they sleep in bed with me, I love that they follow me around in the house and I love that they think they’re lap dogs. But in reality my dogs are far from “perfect”.

Can we share this couch?

Can we share this couch?

Some examples?
For starters, Chase has strands of slime coming from his mouth anytime that food is around. He likes to wipe them on Mylo or unsuspecting humans. Sometimes he shakes his head and they land on himself. Either way, it’s gross.

Next, when Mylo drinks water I’m pretty sure that when he’s done he purposefully takes an entire mouthful and then procedes to walk all over the house spitting it out. This is also his favorite time to do a drive-by lick, which is annoying enough without the extra cold and wet tongue.
More?
They SHED. Constantly. I mean, ALL OVER.
Sometimes they get sick all over the carpets.
They jump on me when I get home from work. They cant contain their joy.
They accidentally knock stuff over and purposely rip apart toilet paper and other garbage.
They need exercise even when it’s cold or rainy. Without it they bounce off the walls.

And this is them as ADULT dogs.

Dirty sandy fun.

Dirty Sandy fun.

When Mylo was a puppy he could get into ANYTHING. No matter how much we puppy-proofed if he was alone and un-crated for more than 10 minutes he’d find SOMETHING to get in to.
When my husband and I first started dating Mylo was 6 months old and one day, while I was at work, he had diarrhea ALL over the bed while I wasn’t home-and not HIS bed, my husbands bed (this is consequently how he got his nickname “Stinky”).
Mylo has never been able to have any toys other than Nylabones and Kongs because he destroys EVERYTHING.

He looks so innocent sometimes..  Notice the wet hair from swamp water.. "Stinky"

He looks so innocent sometimes.. but notice the wet hair from swamp water.. “Stinky”

When Chase was a puppy he nervous-peed until he was about 1 year old. He weighed 80 pounds far before he quit so when he nervous-peed we ended up with a lake on the floor.
He ate my favorite pair of boots (which I foolishly left on the ground) and he still thinks that we are murdering him anytime we try to cut his nails. In order to avoid murder he thrashes around like a mini-dinosaur. It’s very irritating.

Dirty dogs.  But you can't be mad because they're so cute!!

Dirty dogs. But you can’t be mad because they’re so cute!!

In spite of all of these things Mylo and Chase are great dogs. They are well behaved in the house (except for their initial excitement when we come home or someone new comes), they are fantastic with other dogs, they love people, they listen off leash, they walk decently on their leashes and they know their basic obedience commands. They know what’s expected of them and they know what they can get away with. They always know they’re going to be in trouble for doing something wrong, but they’re DOGS. They slip up. They’re young and hyper and it’s our job to continue to work on their obedience.

For those people looking for a “perfect” dog I strongly suggest you think again. A real dog lover understands that “poop” happens. Literally. All dogs have their own quirks and flaws. When you love them you adore them for their flaws and you are willing to work with them on bad behavior. When you’re really ready for a dog you’ve accepted the fact that your house will not stay hair free and your clothes will not be goober free.

If you can’t love something that spills water, is a messy eater, sheds, drools, or occasionally eats a shoe I suggest a stuffed animal. 🙂

And, for those of you who read this.. lucky you! You’re the first to know that the PFYT family just got a new foster dog!! Stay tuned to meet Mocha, a sweet and rammy 4 month old pittie female.

3 Responses to “You want a perfect dog? I suggest a stuffed animal.”

  1. Hannah K January 24, 2013 at 10:50 am #

    The mouthful of water thing? Yeah, Tess & Ed have that mastered. All SO true though!! I think all responsible dog owners think their dogs are perfect while being the first to admit their issues. Heaven knows Tess & Ed have their share…

    • pittiesforyourthoughts January 25, 2013 at 12:12 pm #

      I’m glad to hear that it’s not only my dog!!! I understand drooling.. but I swear he just lets water fall out of his mouth.

  2. Pocket Pittie in the City January 26, 2013 at 10:33 pm #

    Oh man, Nigel is a pro water spitter! It’s like he’s trying to create a trail of spit from the water bowl to his next destination. We need like a full carpet just for his drinking habits. :0) And we just discovered a similar drool situation today!! But his cute smushy face totally makes up for it. Yay for Mocha! She’s such a cutie pie.

Leave a Reply

