Life.. and Fosters.

16 Jun

The only thing that can keep me from writing about my precious pups and my wonderful foster dog??

Life with my precious dogs and my wonderful foster dog.

My fantastic pups.  Big, medium, small.

My fantastic pups. Big, medium, small.

Life sure manages to get in the way sometimes, but I wouldn’t trade the last few months for anything.

I’ve recently gotten a new job, been working on home improvement projects and, as always, spending tons of quality time with my pups.

We’ve spent a lot of time hiking, swimming, and enjoying some quality games of fetch now that the snow has FINALLY melted up here in the Northland.

Finally a hike with no snow.

Finally a hike with no snow.

Could she look any happier?

Could she look any happier?

Another reason I haven’t been writing?

I’ve been feeling like a foster failure. Not a foster failure that ends up adopting their foster dog.. A foster failure that has had the most adorable puppy for 5 months and hasn’t been able to get her adopted.

Not even close. Mocha hasn’t had ONE application in for her.

Mocha has been hoping and praying for a family of her own, and I haven’t found her one. I KNOW that this should have given me MORE of a reason to write. I needed to get her out there. I needed to get her shared. I needed to tell her story every day and get people to fall in love with her like I have.

But I ran out of words.

Over the past couple of months Mocha has continued to love life at Casa de Foster. She has grown into a lovely young lady. Every day that I look at her I wonder “How do I still have her?” She stayed at one of my friend’s house for a couple of days and behaved like a
complete dream. She had an accident and needed stitches in her leg a couple of weeks ago and made everyone at the vet clinic fall in love with her. She charms everyone she meets, and yet she had no one interested in her.

Sliced her leg open right to the bone!

Sliced her leg open right to the bone!

She wasn't a huge fan of the cone of shame.

She wasn’t a huge fan of the cone of shame.

Every time I snuggle up with her I feel like I’ve let her down.

So snuggly.

So snuggly.

As much I don’t want to admit it, I’m afraid that maybe the longer I had her the less I actively tried to find her a home.

I’m not proud of it. But life distracted me from being the best foster that I could be. I gave her a loving home, and kept her happy and active. But that’s not always enough.

I’m SOOOOO happy to announce, however, that Mocha has FINALLY had her FIRST meet and greet in the 5 months that she’s been with me. And I REALLY think it went well!

Can everyone keep their fingers crossed for my number one gal?

mocha

Stay tuned!

3 Responses to “Life.. and Fosters.”

  1. Queen of Zoom June 17, 2013 at 10:41 am #

    Such a pretty girl, hoping she finds her forever home soon!

  2. Shalini (the lesser canine) June 17, 2013 at 11:16 am #

    Ofcourse our paws are crossed for Mocha 🙂 ❤ may she find a wonderful home!

  3. Marcela June 17, 2013 at 1:07 pm #

    We’ll keep our fingers and paws crossed for her and hope that this meet and greet end up being the beginning of her road to her forever home:)

Leave a Reply

